MACOS 10.15 CATRALINA can't install

21 Oct '19, 04:47 PM
No Forum Badges

Hello. I am new to WR and I am trying to install it on my Mac Book Pro. There seems to be some contradictions in installing it. It calls for a old obsolete Java 6 or 7? The installationNotes.txt states that my Mac has all it needs so I am good to go, but that seems to be untrue for some years now. I am no Java programmer, but it seems odd to me that I have to downgrade or install old versions of a runtime environment to run WR a large professional system for legacy solutions in businesses and industries. And the install notes text seems to be really outddated... Like it is not attended to on a regular basis. 

There must be a better way. 

Please help me get that better solution. Thanks. 

I do have the latest JRE installed: 

java version "11.0.5" 2019-10-15 LTS

Java(TM) SE Runtime Environment 18.9 (build 11.0.5+10-LTS)

Java HotSpot(TM) 64-Bit Server VM 18.9 (build 11.0.5+10-LTS, mixed mode)

Follow
Answer Answer at this question and get points!
Forum Hero - Level 9

Hi Lars,

as reported in the “System requirements” section of the Release Notes (https://my.webratio.com/learn/learningobject/webratio-72-release-notes-v-72) WebRatio 7 IDE works only with Oracle java 7 but mac OS seems require a legacy version to complete the installation. In this case to run WebRatio 7 on Mac OS Catalina you have to install the suggested Java Legacy version (e.g. java for macOS 2017-001).

Moreover you have to mark as secure the WebRatio app.

Here the steps to run WebRatio 7 on Mac OS

• Install Java Legacy. If you are not able to install them you have to force the installation of Java Legacy for Mac OS Catalina ignoring the incompatibility restrictions imposed by the new version of the operating system. Download Java for OS X 2017-001 https://support.apple.com/kb/dl1572. Open AppleScript (/Applications/Utilities/Script Editor.app) and copy-paste this code: